Money gifts: what now?

Thanks to the long weekend (and because I’m a very good procrastinator), my Week 7 Review post is kind of being shoved into this post. Whoops!

What I’d Struggled With

Well, first off, I spent a lot of money very quickly early on in the week. By Tuesday, I only had shy of $17 remaining of my $60 weekly budget. After that, however, I didn’t really spend much for the rest of the week.

Where My Money Went

As mentioned in my last post, I spent the big chunk of money on things with which to make a yummy dinner. I had a knitting meet-up during the week, too, and spent $10 on a drink and the tip. I also spent a couple of buck on milk, candy, and chips on Friday for my parents visit. (Empty fridge isn’t exactly a good way to welcome guests to your home!)

Where My Money Didn’t Go

I had to pay for parking for the aforementioned knitting shin-dig.

Total Spent: $53.34
Added to Money Jar:
 $6.66 (eep!!)
Total in Money Jar:
 $86.49

So, what’s with the title of this post, eh? Well, here’s the deal.

I have a pretty awesome family. They’re legitimately insane sometime, but I continue to enjoy my life and it’s pretty much their fault. 🙂 That being said, my sister gave me a handful of money when we saw her on Sunday as a belated congratulations on my engagement. My mother gave me an “I love this much!” wad of dough, as she usually does. I was happy! I am happy! But… I had to ask myself: What does this do to my budget???

The old me would be like, “YES! SPEND IT! LET’S GOOOO!”

The new me had to weigh the pros and cons of two options:

  1. Use this money for my budget until it runs out, as opposed to going to the ATM.
  2. Put it all in my jar and pretend that it doesn’t exist.

I wish I could just deposit it into my savings account and ignore it, but as I’ve mentioned before, I am a member of an online bank and can’t deposit cash. I’m leaning more towards the 2nd option… but, we’ll see…

Anyway, currently…

Week 8 Allowance Status: $60.00 / $60.00

Leave a comment